Indian Booker Prize Winners : A Critical Study of Their Works (Volume 1 - Hardbound)

Special Price ₹506.00 Regular Price ₹595.00
In stock

Buy eBook (Kindle Edition)

Same Day Shipping
Get additional 15% discount
Use Coupon Code: BOOKFAIR15

About the Book
Literary prizes form a fascinating interface between literature and society. Established in 1968, the Booker Prize has rapidly become one of the most prestigious and glamorous literary prizes in the English speaking world. Unlike the Nobel Prize, the Booker focuses on a particular novel rather than on a particular author. It seeks to confer literary recognition on novels that are winners and attend to the novel as a form and medium for new voices, styles and cultures. The Man Booker Prize expresses a postcolonial response and the prominence of India in its brief history is unquestionable. Besides V.S. Naipaul, the Indian Trinidadian, the prize has been awarded to four Indians—Salman Rushdie in 1981, Arundhati Roy in 1997, Kiran Desai in 2006 and most recently in 2008 to Aravind Adiga. In addition, diasporic Indian authors regularly appear on the shortlist that comes out several months before the prize is actually awarded. Thus, Indian writers have successfully created a niche of their own in English, leaving an indelible mark on the global scene. Rich in scholarship, Indian Booker Prize Winners is a challenging collection of essays, which propels the field of Indian English writing forward and focuses on the emerging role of Indian English fiction in shaping the most significant annual international award in English letters. The book examines the key critical debates which provide a concise analysis of the Booker winning novels from India. A variety of subjects and viewpoints inform the close readings of these seminal novels, thereby making the book particularly useful for the teachers and students of Indian English literature.

About the Author/s
Dr. Sunita Sinha, a gold medallist from the Patna University, Bihar, has been teaching English in Women’s College, Samastipur, L.N. Mithila University, Bihar. She has authored two books, Graham Greene: A Study of His Major Novels and Post Colonial Women Writers: New Perspectives. She has edited three anthologies on Postcolonial literature, viz. New Urges in Post Colonial Literature: Widening Horizons, Reconceiving Postcolonialism: Visions and Revisions and Postcolonial Imaginings: Fissions and Fusions. Critical Responses to Kiran Desai and New Perspectives in British Literature Vol. I and II, have been recently published by the Atlantic Publishers & Distributors (P) Ltd. New Delhi. Sunita Sinha has participated in many national and international seminars and conferences and has written many scholarly papers which have been published in various national and international journals. Her areas of interest are British, Indian, Australian, Canadian and Postcolonial literature. She is the Assistant Editor of The Atlantic Critical Review and the Honorary Editor/Director for Bihar, Atlantic Publishers & Distributors (P) Ltd.
More Information
AuthorEd. Sunita Sinha
Original PriceINR 595
VolumeVolume 1
Publication Year2010
PublisherAtlantic Publishers and Distributors (P) Ltd
SubjectEnglish Literature
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Indian Booker Prize Winners : A Critical Study of Their Works (Volume 1 - Hardbound)
Your Rating
Copyright © 2016 Atlantic Publishers & Distributors Pvt Ltd